Will you be the one person?

It only takes one person –

We have all been there: the situation doesn’t feel right. The work seems a little rough, or too much. Everyone around you seems to be enjoying it or agreeing with it, but you just don’t feel right about it.

It’s in our nature to not go against the crowd – most of us feel deep fear of rejection or being ostracized from our group. And if everyone around you doesn’t mind it, who are you to say it’s wrong? You doubt yourself, wonder if you are actually seeing what you’re seeing, and think surely the professional or whoever is doing it knows more than you.

One against a crowd is too much. But with one person speaking up, or even agreeing with you, you can feel much more courageous.

One person can turn the tide. One person can be the difference between disaster, ongoing abuse, and harm to horse and human. One person can help another person trust their knowledge, inner feelings, and feel safe again. One person can restore someone’s confidence and prevent years of second guessing and more abuse due to self doubt.

There are many times I wish I’d had that person, and many more times I wish I’d been that person. Now that I have a daughter, I think of past scenarios I was involved in or others were- and I think, would I let that happen to her? Absolutely not. I’d go full blown cray-cray if needed to prevent that from happening to her. But at the risk of sounding corny, we are all connected to each other- if we let it happen to someone else, what’s to stop it from happening to us?

Will you be that one person?
I hope to be that person from now on.

2 thoughts on “Will you be the one person?

Leave a comment